Chronical of a Start Up

Today I while I was running I was working things out in my head about my business. Thinking about how to carry out a project I have on the table, about new ideas and about how I was going to manage it all. I remembered the videos I’d seen on Miss Representation and how I might organize a screening here in town. I was thinking about how important its message is, and about how I want to set an example for my daughter and son.

Recently I had a setback and I found myself thinking what would a man do? I ask myself that a lot lately to make sure I am on track. I put the man’s response on one side of the balance and I put my own on the other and I weigh them out. I have to be a little tougher and a little more egotistical then I am by nature. Putting things on the balance helps me see that. Then I make my decision about how to proceed.

I remembered Paul Graham’s very interesting article on becoming an entrepreneur. I ate it up. But I also recalled him warning about choosing a woman with small children as a partner. Screw you Paul Graham. Even if you might be right. And I thought, what is going to make me different? What is going to make me stick it out? What makes me a good entrepreneur and/or partner in spite of having 2 squirts at home who are my  #1 priority? Because they are, of course, no denying that. When push comes to shove, I’d give up everything if I had to for them. But fortunately, I don’t have to. And as Sheryl Sandberg said, I’m not going to plan ahead for that until the time comes. Sheryl has some excellent advice for career women. Have a good support system at home. And I do.

Plus, Mr. Paul Graham, I LIVE with my focus group, my children, which is a lot more then many entrepreneurs can say.

About CoffeeWithKath

Passionate about Technology in Education and how it can make a difference in the lives of students with Dyslexia. Founder of @ForDyslexia. Mom of twins. Juggling entrepreneurship and kids.

Leave a Reply

